Race Recap: RnR Arizona Half Marathon

Another year, another half marathon. 

Last fall I had big hopes of PR’ing in January at the Arizona Rock ‘N’ Roll Marathon. I even signed up for a 10K and 5K in November and December to get ready. I killed it in both of those races, but I had a huge holiday hangover when my race day came around.

Not only had I skipped out on my regular workouts and slacked on keeping up on my run schedule, I was battling a cold and a foot injury. I knew from the start that this was not going to be my best race.

tumblr_o12kfcb6W51r2zo4mo1_540

I had doubts about finishing 13.1 strong, and I even considered opting for the 10K distance. But, I pressed on. I knew I had to finish what I started.

Easier said then done.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t like to look at my race maps prior to a race. I’m probably crazy, I know. But I like the element of surprise. But not when I’m faced with hills at mile 9. Ugh, I wanted to give up but I couldn’t.

Up until mile 9 I was on pace to meet my average 13.1 pace. But as I slogged along mile 9, mile 10, 11 and 12, seconds became minutes and slowly my hopes of achieving a personal best faded.

I finished. It was my worst race. Whatever.

I was hungry. I was tired. I was hurting. But I finished. And now I’m getting ready for my next race.

65b768886a8a0f09b8abfea083b5dd44

Register for the race here before the next price increase!

Image via Rock ‘N’ Roll Arizona Marathon & 1/2 Marathon Facebook

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

