FitBloggin’15

I’ve been putting this post off for a couple of weeks now for a couple of reasons. One, my journey and my story is hard to tell; I have to swallow my pride a little. And Two, I really want to attend this year’s FitBloggin’ conference so I wanted to make sure this post was perfect.

I learned about the FitBloggin’ ticket giveaway on the first day it was released, and it’s been on my mind ever since. Earlier this year I decided that I wanted to attend the conference, and winning the ticket giveaway would make it so much sweeter.

So, here it goes:

My journey has had a lot of twists and turns, ups and downs, proud moments and some not so proud moments (I’ve always struggled with my appearance and I think it’s why weight management has been so hard for me over the years). But one thing about my journey is that it continues. I haven’t quit. In the last year I was at my heaviest, it was such a hard time for me, because not long before, in 2012, I was in the best shape of my life. I felt like I failed myself. I struggled with motivation, binge eating and depression. But despite the setbacks, I continued on my journey.

It took one photo to really wake me up. In June 2014 my mom was visiting from Oregon. She’s lost over 60 pounds on Weight Watchers and I’m so proud of her.  We took a bunch of photos together, she took some candids of me and I didn’t like one single picture. It really woke me up and it made me cry. I wasn’t happy with how I looked or felt and I wasn’t enjoying my life. In July I got serious about weightloss, healthy cooking and making smarter decisions. I gave up alcohol (for the second time) and sweets and committed to a fit lifestyle. When I started working out again it was hard to even run consistently for 10+ minutes. I knew it wouldn’t be a cakewalk but I also knew I had to stick with it.

I signed up for my first half marathon in July of 2014, trained my butt off and lost nearly 25 pounds in the three months leading up to my race. I’ve never been a runner, so this was huge. After I decided to run my first half I created my blog fitmedaily. Writing about health and fitness really inspired me to continue on my journey.

October 2014 | After my first half marathon

In January I was notified that I was selected to become a Nuunbassador for one of my favorite hydration products, NUUN. This was amazing! I went from feeling awful about my fitness level to feeling like an influncer who really knows her stuff in a little over six months. The partnership with Nuun really inspired me to continue to blog regularly and sign up for more races.

But now, I’m ready to take the next step. I want to learn more about the business of blogging and grow my blog. I think the FitBloggin’ community can really teach me a lot and it would be so amazing to be able to be part of such an inspirational group. I want to hear feedback from the experts and I want to get better. Isn’t that what life is all about?

I continue to exercise (hiking, running, a few kettle bell swings) on a daily basis (hence my blog name). I’ve even started lifting and eventually I want to lift competitively. I want to be a youth sports coach, a speaker and contribute to my community.

So, my journey brings me here.

This year the FitBloggin’ team is giving away three full conference passes including two days at the Westin and a 2014 swag kit. The conference, June 25-28, is in beautiful Denver, Colorado, how could I possibly miss this? There will be tons of awesome bloggers who blog about fitness, healthy lifestyles and wellness at the conference. I want to attend FitBloggin’15 to learn more about the business of blogging and to make lasting connections with the other like-minded FitBloggin’ attendees.

One thought on “FitBloggin’15

Leave a Reply

