My Favorite (Not-So) Guilty Pleasure: Junk Food Edition

What’s it like being dairy-free? Well, for starters say goodbye to everything delicious. I can’t say that truthfully because a lot of dairy-free foods are amazing! There’s the coconut milk ice cream from Trader Joes, vanilla almond milk. I could go on but…

There come’s a time between 11 p.m. and 2 a.m. where you get a craving for a late-night snack. While others can just reach into the cabinet and pullout whatever they want and start eating, I have to carefully calculate whether or not the food I want to eat has traces of milk or cheese–or pay for it later. I love Mexican food, but Mexican food doesn’t love me. Don’t ask what it’s like, if you’re lactose like me, you already know. I’m not alone, 65 percent of Americans have trouble digesting dairy, the U.S. National Library of Medicine says so.

Anyways, my new not-so guilty pleasure are these little guys. Amy’s non-dairy¬†burritos. I typically get the gluten-free, dairy-free type, but this is what the market had today, they usually cost two bucks each or closer to three when they aren’t on sale. I was compelled to write a post about these burritos (it’s weird I know) because it’s not very often that you come across a food that’s good for you, but tricks your mind into thinking that you’re enjoying the sweet satisfaction of consuming junk food. What’s your favorite dairy-free indulgence?

One thought on “My Favorite (Not-So) Guilty Pleasure: Junk Food Edition

Leave a Reply

